Federal judge blocks COVID-19 vaccine mandate for Head Start early education program workers


President Joe Biden can’t require academics within the Head Start early education program to be vaccinated towards COVID-19, a Louisiana federal judge dominated Saturday, handing a victory to 24 states — together with Alaska — that had sued the federal authorities.

U.S. District Judge Terry Doughty wrote that the Biden administration unlawfully bypassed Congress when ordering that workers in Head Start applications be vaccinated by Jan. 31 and that college students 2 years or older be masked when indoors or when in shut contact outside.

Head Start is a federally funded program that promotes education for kids beneath the age of 6 who’re from low-income households.

Doughty, an appointee of then-President Donald Trump, wrote that the separation of powers is essential to the nation’s founding and quoted former President Ronald Reagan, who mentioned “the nine most terrifying words in the English language are, ‘I’m from the government and I’m here to help.’”

“If the Executive branch is allowed to usurp the power of the Legislative branch to make laws, then this country is no longer a democracy – it is a monarchy,” Doughty wrote.

Republican attorneys common who have been among the many 24 states concerned within the lawsuit praised Doughty’s choice.

“This victory will help ensure that numerous Head Start programs will continue to operate rather than have to fire teachers and cut back services to children,” Alabama Attorney General Marshall mentioned in a information launch. “And this win will forestall the nonsensical and damaging practice of forcing masks on two-year-olds.”

It was not instantly clear whether or not the federal authorities would attraction the choice to the fifth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in New Orleans.

Doughty’s ruling is just like a Friday ruling during which a federal judge additionally blocked the Head Start mandate in Texas.

Saturday’s ruling impacts Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Wyoming and West Virginia.